family food.

My family has been a line of good cooks. From my classic southern grandma, making delicious buttery meals and scrumptiously sweet desserts to my own mom following in her footsteps. 27 years ago my grandma decided to follow her dreams and open her own restaurant. She found a building and business for sale and decided to go for it. My mom began helping her out at age 13 and and persevered through every struggle life threw at her. After the birth of her 2 children and the death of her mother she continued to put in hard work everyday to grow this business her mom had started. Ever since I can remember I’ve worked there over the summers and any other day off school, when my grandma was there and even after she wasn’t. So it was almost inevitable that this would become my favorite restaurant. As I’ve grown I have watched the menu continuously expand so my favorite food has been everchanging.

I can’t wait to see what my mom does with her business and how it will continue to grow. I’m excited to try every new recipe she comes up with and find new foods I love along the way.

One thought on “family food.

  1. Your blog was well constructed and provided backstory that was very touching. The fact that you included the part about your mom and her struggles when working for the restaurant was a good showing of how much the restaurant means to your family. The title was good because it gives you the main theme of the blog before you even read the first word. The organization was really good because you gave some backstory and tied it all in with how the business is doing today. The picture of the sandwich and potatoes looks really really good by the way. The one revision that I would make would be making the title capitalized.

    Like

Leave a comment